Study “Nuclear Engineering” in Korea


Nuclear power in Korea has become a big industry since their first nuclear power plant, Kori 1, put into commercial operation in 1978. Currently 20 nuclear power plants are operating; 4 units of PWRs at Kori, 4 units of PHWRs at Wolsung, 6 units of PWRs at Youngkwang and 6 more units of PWRs at Uljin; and eight units of PWRs are under construction or on order. Korea’s nuclear power generation technology has continuously advanced, and today, its nuclear technology has reached to a standard that is on par with the most advanced countries of the world.

The total capacity of Korea’s nuclear power plant generation is 17.716 MWe. These nuclear power reactors are supplying about 40.3% of the total electric power demand. Its capacity is approximately 28.4% of Korea’s total electric power generation. In 2005 the capacity factor for South Korean power reactors averaged 96.5% – one of the highest in the world. And most important, there is no severe nuclear accident recorded in Korea.

Since the nuclear power industry goes bigger, the demand of the professional nuclear engineers also increases. Currently there are six universities in Korea that have nuclear engineering program:

1. Hanyang University (HYU) since 1958,
2. Seoul National University (SNU) since 1959,
3. Kyunghee University (KHU) since 1979,
4. Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST) since 1981,
5. Cheju National University (CJU) since 1984,
6. Chosun University (CSU) since 1985.

With these reasons, Korea should be considered as one of the countries where you can study nuclear engineering.

Let me give a brief information about Department of Nuclear and Quantum Engineering (NQE) of KAIST since I am studying there. KAIST as one of the best university in Korea offers scholarship for student each semester. More information about the admission and scholarship can be seen here. It is better first to contact the Professor that you are interested in before you submit the admission. You can also apply to NQe KAIST by RCARO/KAIST Master’s Degree Course.

All the courses in NQe are offered in English so language is not the problem, but I suggest to learn Korean to survive in the outside campuss life.

The department of Nuclear and Quantum Engineering of KAIST has 11 laboratories which are listed below. More information about the research from each lab can be found by clicking each of it.

1. Nuclear Materials Lab.
2. Nuclear Environmental Engineering Lab.
3. Nuclear Reactor Analysis and Particle Transport Lab.
4. Nuclear & Energy System Design And Safety Lab.
5. Nuclear/Hydrogen System Lab.
6. Nuclear I&C and Information Engineering Lab.
7. Radiation Detection and Medical Imaging Lab.
8. Neutron Scattering and Nanoscale Materials Lab.
9. Quantum Beam Engineering Lab.
10. Radiochemistry and Laser Spectroscopy Lab.
11. Nuclear Energy Conversion and Electrification Lab.

Then, any questions? Feel free to contact me.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ore seun
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 12:27:26

    Dear Sir,

    I have a plan to take up a postgraduate course in Nuclear Energy Engineering at the Seoul National University. I have gone through the university website http://www.snu.ac.kr and downloaded important information. However, I also deemed it important to contact the coordinating department to get cleared on certain issues which are not directly cleared to me.

    Ore Samuel is my name. I just completed my university education at university of Ibadan in Nigeria. I studied Physics. I will be happy if you can shed light on the following questions.

    Is this program available to international student and can I apply as a Physics graduate? If I can apply, what is the acceptable entry CGPA for this course (I mean first-class, second-class upper graduates etc etc ) and how can I gain credit for my previous studies?. Is there any standard format of converting foreign qualification to Korean standard?

    Do I need to possess any professional qualification to boost my chance of admission? What about work experience? Are there any financial aids available to international student planning to get enroll for this postgraduate program?. What is the level of undergraduate academic records you expect from a graduate of Physics like me.?

    I decided to send this mail because I want to be sure that I am making a proper application. I am very sorry if my enquiry has not been directed to the appropriate channel. I do not mean to constitute disturbance to you. I will be happy to see you direct me to the appropriate quarter. Please provide me with information on these and other things you think might be of help. I need information on funding and the postgraduate programs that I earlier mentioned Thank you very much. I hope to hearing from you soon.

    Ore Samuel

    Reply

  2. tsdipura
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 07:38:04

    Sy jg tulis sesuatu terkait perkembangan nuklir di korea…semoga bisa jadi bahan diskusi untuk belajar dari mereka. Silahkan disimah disini..

    http://catatanstudi.wordpress.com/2010/02/11/the-development-of-nuclear-industry-in-korea/

    Reply

  3. arif tfn
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 13:36:25

    mas mw tanya,,,aq dari STTN-BATAN YOGYAKARTA.kalo yang beasiswa diluar u&u gmn caranya….terus jurusanq teknofisika nuklir prodi elektromekanik kira2 ada gak buat peluang s2 disana.kendalanya juga aq D4 gak s1,itu disana ada bedanya gak?jika ada beasiswa s2 lain mohon infonya

    terima kasih

    email:zainal_arifin0506@yahoo.com

    Reply

  4. Trackback: seperti apa sih kuliah di korea? | hyunri kim

Leave a Reply

